The Board

Sir Peter Williams, CBE, FREng, FRS, Chairman, and chairman of the Audit Committee

He completed his MA degree and PhD at Cambridge, followed by a Lectureship at Imperial College. He then moved into industry, working at VG Instruments where he became Deputy Chief Executive and at Oxford Instruments, the first spin-out from Oxford University, where he held the positions of Chief Executive Officer and Chairman. He also held the roles of Chairman of Isis Innovation Ltd, the technology transfer arm of Oxford University, Chairman of the National Physical Laboratory, Master of St. Catherine’s College Oxford and Vice President and Treasurer of the Royal Society. Other PLC experience includes serving as a senior independent director of GKN plc and as a non-executive director of WS Atkins plc. He received a CBE in 1992 and was knighted in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list of 1998. He is currently Chairman of the Daiwa Anglo Japanese Foundation in addition to his Kromek responsibilities.


Dr Arnab Basu MBE, CEO

Has a PhD in physics from Durham University, specialising in semiconducting sensor materials. Arnab held senior management positions in his family business, which manufactured materials for the electronics industry serving over 250 major telecommunications and consumer electronics manufacturers, including Siemens, GEC. He worked in commercial product development for Elmwood Sensors Ltd, (Honeywell Group, UK). A prominent figure within the business community, he was awarded Ernst and Young ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ (2009) and received an MBE for services to regional development and international trade (2014).


Mr Paul Farquhar, Chief Financial Officer

Has almost 30 years’ experience as a finance director and chief financial officer, primarily for international businesses. He was previously President, Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer of Sevcon Inc, a NASDAQ-listed designer, manufacturer and supplier of microprocessor controls for electric and hybrid vehicles. In this position, Paul established a global finance team in five countries with common financial reporting systems to meet the needs of a growing technology business and also oversaw the raising of equity and debt finance and M&A activity. Paul began his career as a chartered accountant, spending 10 years as an auditor at Jennings Johnson in Sunderland and at PricewaterhouseCoopers in Newcastle and Lisbon, Portugal.


Mr Lawrence Kinet, Non-Executive Director and member of the Remuneration Committee

Has 40 years’ experience in the medical device and biopharmaceutical industry in leadership positions, most recently as Group Chief Executive of LMA International NV and, President of Smiths Medical, London. Lawrence has raised more than $100m in funding for early-stage companies, taking one through an IPO, and made over $1bn worth of acquisitions. His career began at Baxter International, running a number of overseas operations eventually becoming President of Baxter’s International Division. He holds a BSc from the University of Birmingham (UK) and an MBA from the University of Chicago.


Mr Jerel Whittingham, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee

Has extensive experience in investor, operational and strategy roles with technology-rich companies including Incuvest LLC, Generics Group plc, Durlacher plc, Amphion Innovations plc, INMARSAT and a number of start-ups. He was appointed to the Board of Kromek Group plc in September 2013 and also served on the Board of DSC Ltd, a predecessor company of the group. Currently, he combines NED and operational roles in technology growth companies. He also served as CEO and later Executive Chairman of Myconostica Ltd, a medical technology company spun out from a leading UK university.


Christopher Wilks BSc, ACA, Non-Executive Director

Has considerable experience in the fields of both science and finance. He is currently Chief Financial Officer at Signum Technology, which he co-founded in 2012. Prior to this, he was Chief Financial Officer at Sondex plc where he successfully managed their listing on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange in 2003 and made several post IPO acquisitions. In 2007 Sondex was acquired by GE. After graduating from Durham University with a BSc in Applied Physics and Electronics, Christopher initially joined Marconi Space Systems designing power systems for spacecraft, he then trained as a Chartered Accountant at Arthur Young (now Ernst & Young). After qualifying as a Chartered Accountant in audit he became a Manager in the Corporate Finance team at Ernst & Young. His intimate understanding of the physics and financial worlds adds valuable insight and expertise.

Rakesh Sharma OBE, Non-Executive Director

A former FTSE 250 CEO with 20 years’ experience in running international hi-tech engineering and manufacturing businesses. He was instrumental in the growth of Ultra Electronics Holdings plc, the LSE-listed group that specialises in providing engineering solutions for mission-critical systems in the defence, security, critical detection and control markets, latterly serving for six years as CEO. He also sits on the Board of LSE-listed PayPoint plc and supports a range of small businesses and entrepreneurs in a non-executive capacity. Rakesh was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2016 and was honoured in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours List with an OBE for services to defence capability. He brings extensive expertise in the security and defence sector, a key market for Kromek.

Stay up to date with Kromek news

Subscribe to our newsletter

Unsure what product you need?

Use our Product Finder tool